Tuesday, 1st March, 1932

Chris and Brigit left about 9.30 and Mr. MacIntyre about 11

Sunday, 6th March, 1932

No church.   Marjorie went to Prestwood at 11.

Tuesday, 8th March, 1932

Mr. Dugdale to lunch and  tea.  Mr. Stevens came about 4.30 re chicks. Spent evening at Prestwood. Took the Aunts a sitting of eggs.

Wednesday, 9th March, 1932

Went over to Mrs. Wise to have my signature witnessed.  Pa went to  town at 11.30  –  returned with Kate by the 6.27.

Thursday, 10th March, 1932

Kate left by the 8.20.  Marjorie and I went to town to see Foster Moore.

Wednesday, 27th July, 1932

I went to Moreton to help Chris and Brigit to pack up their belongings.

Friday, 29th July, 1932

The furniture all departed about 12.30.  We had lunch and left directly after.

Saturday, 30th July, 1932

Moreton luggage arrived here about 4 p.m.  Quick work!

Saturday, 1st October, 1932

Pa at  Leicester – Labour Party Conference.

Sunday, 2nd October, 1932

Mike and Brigit to church.

Wednesday, 5th October, 1932

Got up at 6.30 – attended to hens and took tea.  Mike and I went to church.  Pa, Kate and Chris went to town with apples.  Brigit in bed with cold.  Did Mike’s packing.  The others returned after lunch.  Pa, Chris and I drove with Mike to Oxford and got home about 8.  Pa went to Leicester at 9.30.

Thursday, 6th October, 1932

Pa returned this evening.  Kate went up to town tonight.

Sunday, 9th October, 1932

I went to St. Anne’s with Wilfred.  Chris and Daddy and I went to Oxford to see Michael.  Kate stayed in town this weekend.

Monday, 10th October, 1932

Janet produced three white kittens.

Tuesday, 11th October, 1932

Mr. Phillip Price to lunch.

Wednesday, 12th October, 1932

Mr and Miss Helps came.

Friday, 14th October, 1932

Helps left about 10.  Isobel came home this evening.

Sunday, 16th October, 1932

No church. Wilfred seedy. Stuart came down for lunch and stayed night.

Monday, 17th October, 1932

Isobel and Stuart left by the 7.50.  Dr. Green came to see Wilfred.

Tuesday, 18th October, 1932

Dr. Green came again.  W. rather better.  Chris and I started on my poultry accounts.  Mrs. Willmott came in after tea.

Wednesday, 19th October, 1932

Pa and Kate went to Hayling Island.  Chris went to  town.  I called on Mrs. Spinney.  Pa and Kate got back about 8.15.  Dr. Green came and found Wilfred distinctly improved.

Thursday, 20th October, 1932

Pa went to town to see Milner and Attlee, returned at 3.30.  Kate and Brigit went to town by bus at 5.30.

Friday, 21st October, 1932

Pa went to town at 2 p.m. and returned at 7.30.  Chris and Brigit returned soon after.  Kate stayed in town with Stuart who seems to have got tonsillitis.  Beastly wet day.

Saturday, 22nd October, 1932

Pa left about 10 for Colchester to speak at an Agricultural Conference and returned at 8.30.  Isobel came home at 5.  I sent up laundry, flowers, jam etc., to Kate who stayed at the flat looking after Stuart. Spent the evening over the labels for Pa’s apple boxes.

Sunday, 23rd October, 1932

Finished labels for boxes.  A pouring wet day.  Pa and Chris packing apples most of the day

Monday, 24th October, 1932

Pa took Isobel to the station for the 7.50.  Pa and Chris went to Wycombe to get labels printed.   Mr. Clapperton called.  Dr. came to see Wilfred.  Pa and Chris packed apples again.  Wrote to Michael and S.P.B.A.

Tuesday, 25th October, 1932

Made record cards for Trapnests.  Kate came home at dinner time.  Chris took Wilfred for a little drive.

Wednesday, 26th October, 1932

Brigit and I filled all the Trapnests fronts.  Spent from about 9 till 12 in the run doing various jobs.    Kate gardened all day.  Mr. Langman came to see Pa about apple packing.  Pa and Chris went to Swindon.  Stuart came down at 8 p.m.  Pa and Chris home by 11.40.  Got to bed about 1.30 a.m.

Thursday, 27th October, 1932

Kate, Chris, Brigit and Stuart drove into Norfolk to look at two small farms and got back here about 10 p.m. Pa went to town by the 10.14 and from there to Swindon where he stayed the night.  I had a very henny day!

Friday, 28th October, 1932

Stuart went away by the 8.20.  Chris went to meet Pa at Reading at 9.50.  Apple packing.  Isobel came home on the 6.27.

Saturday, 29th October, 1932

Pa and Chris went shopping and haircutting in Missenden. Apple packing continued.  I wrote some labels.  Had our usual bridge in the evening.

Sunday, 30th October, 1932

No church.  Got up about 6.30.  Kate excelled herself in making my room clean and tidy!  Pa and Isobel went up to town at 5.30.  He was speaking SSIP and returned at 11.30.

Monday, 31st October, 1932

Pa and Chris took apples up to Harrods.  Left here about 9 and got back about 1.45.  The doctor signed off Wilfred today.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 830 other subscribers.

Follow us on Twitter